Best type of sharpener for a newbie??

Grendel

Settler
Mar 20, 2011
Southampton
Ok I’m new to the whole sharpening knifes. I used to use one of these:

http://www.legendcookshop.co.uk/kitchen-devil-rollsharp-sharpener-24878-0.html

But have since been warned not to due to it causing more damage to the blade than necessary. I’m not confident enough to use a flat stone since I’m not sure I couldn’t keep the same angle each time. So any suggestions to a sharper that can be use on all edged tools from kitchen knives to garden shears by a complete novice?

3bears

Settler
Jun 28, 2010
Anglesey, North Wales
IMHO, a Spyderco sharkmaker is a good investment ( despite the price) it's a pretty much fool proof way to get a razor sharp, literally shaving sharp edge in just a few minutes, I've been nothing but impressed with mine since the day i unpacked it :D

JAG009

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 20, 2010
Under your floor
Get an oil stone or a water stone and practise with an old knife ,once you have the technique down pat it will give you razor edge every time

Jason

Grendel

Settler
Mar 20, 2011
Southampton
I have a leather strop and compound but presumably I would have to sharpen with the Sharpmaker then use strop after using the two types of stones for the final edge???

mrcharly

Jan 25, 2011
North Yorkshire, UK
If you are doing anything other than touching up a blade, you are going to have to learn to use a coarse stone. Cheapest way in is a combination oilstone, something like this: axminster norton stone.

You can use washing up liquid on the stone instead of oil; keeps things a bit cleaner.

Learn using something easy such as an Opinel. Then move on to more complicated blades (doing the final edge shaping and sharpening on a curved blade like a spoon knife, that is a pain!).

marcelxl

Settler
May 2, 2010
Kamloops, B.C.
ANother for the sharpmaker, idiotproof and a sound investment