Belt and Possibles Pouch your advice please

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

David B

May 12, 2006
Tadcaster North Yorks
I am after some advice and opinions on belts for Bushcraft and possibles pouches.

I am fairly new to bushcraft having come over from Magikellys site "Song of the Paddle" :newbie:

I want to spend time this year using my canoe to get out wild camping. Bearing in mind that I am going to be close to water most of the time, would you recomend a Leather belt and Possibles pouch, and what sort of things should i be carrying. :confused:
Any advise would be welcome.

P.S. I am know as the poling gnome on SOTP hence the Avatar

British Red

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
David,

Can't help on the "is leather good on water" thing - if it isn't I'd go with the Maxpedition range of pouched - I had one and they are good, but I always come back to leather!

As for whats in your pouch - Its like "whats in your handbag"

Hang on and I'll dump mine out and you can see what I've got in it today

Red

British Red

Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
This is my old Maxpedition pouch that I kept for lomger forays - more a "personal survival kit"

Well heres what fits in the pouch of doom!

The outside first:

1 Maxpedition Pouch - well made and can be added to other rigs with malice clips
2. Army Model firesteel in left hand pen socket
3. Diamond knife sharpener (Gerber) in right hand sharpener
4 Cheap zip pulls replaced with 550 cord glowing pulls
5 Silva Micra compass mounted to strap on front pocket

Now the contents of outer pockets

1. Swedish firesteel (army)
2. Splitter ring
3. Recoil plastic covered wire to attach firesteel to belt
4 Gerber flat and round diamond sharpener
5. 2" ziplocks of firlighter pieces in front pocket
6. 2" ziplocks of vaseline and cotton wool in front pocket
7. Silva ropeburner