Basic kit for a beginner?

Asa Samuel

Native
May 6, 2009
St Austell.
Hi, I'm pretty much just starting out and I'd like some advice on what kit is essential for a beginner at bushcraft.

I'd like to be doing get-togethers and camping, not for really hard use but for the odd trip out for a couple of days.

What items of kit do you recommend I get as a foundation that I could go to a get-together or a few nights camping by myself without having to add to unless I find something that I want to take?

I'm a student so funds are limited so I want to make sure I am getting what I need and not getting things I don't need so I can enjoy a couple of nights camping but not buying excess things I don't need.

Thanks for any info/advice :)

Asa.

EDIT: Sorry I just realised I put this in the wrong section! Could a Mod please move it to Kit Chatter?

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
Most important will be an open mind,
any number of people might jump in with kit that they wish they'd had when starting out, but if your budget is restricted, read/learn and try other peoples kit before you part with your own cash. If you can get along to any of the moots/meet ups, there'll be plenty of folk willing to show you their kit so you can make an informed choice based on what your personal expectations are.
Everyone will recommend a Frosts More knife, but beyond that, there'll be selections to be made according to budget and any number of other factors.
For a few nights camping, you could be looking at a tarp and bivi or hammock set up but if you have a tent already, why not use that before you buy anything else.

ATB

Ogri the trog

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
Mr Mears summarises a basic kit list quite well in his books ...

Something to carry it in,
something to sleep under,
something to sleep in,
something to sleep on,
something to cook over,
something to cook in,
something to carry water,
a mug,
eating utensils,
food,
medical kit,
illumination,
wash kit,