April foraging

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

william#

Settler
Sep 5, 2005
sussex
OffroadersSimon: I’ve been foraging, and I’m going to be living mainly off worms, snails and these mushrooms I’ve found.
Lindsay: And I’ll be living off pizzas.
Simon: Pizzas?
Lindsay: Yeah, there’s a Pizza Hut just down the road.

- The Offroaders

xylaria

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
shep said:
I'm new to foraging and having dusted off my copy of Lofty's book am completely lost as to where to start - everything looks like water hemlock. OK that's an exaggeration, but any suggestions for better books to get started? I can't seem to get past the constant paranoia of immediate fatal poisoning from the wrong berry!

Learn to ID basic groups.
Such as if the flower has four petals, and the young plant is growing in a rosette it probably part of the cabbage family, which has quite a few choice edible plants. Bitter cress is out at the moment as that really nice.

Carrot family has to be learned IMHO before you start eating wild plants as it contains some of the most harmful plants in Britain.

As for berries the berries of purging buckthorne produces nausea with one or two berries and the shrub does not look like anything that is edible.
Nightshade family I have given the fruit to people who are convinced that they can tell if something is poisonous by if it tastes bitter or it makes their lips swell. Woody nightshade fruit tastes like the after taste of saccharin tablets and doesn't make your lips swell but is undoubtedly not that good for you.

What most people do is start on easy plants and slowy learn more. IMHO there is no quick road and survival taste tests are best left to survival situations not general foraging in known environments.

spamel

Banned
Feb 15, 2005
Silkstone, Blighty!