Your Biggest Investment

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Jaan

Forager
Apr 22, 2011
Tallinn, Estonia
There have recently been threads about your worst buy, your best buy, the value of your kit and so forth.

It got me thinking: we've all been taught the rule of threes and what priorities shelter, fire, water and food take. But what part (kit, knowledge or other) of bushcraft do you invest the most time, effort and money in?

For example - I'm still starting out with this hobby, haven't bought much kit and haven't been cocking about in the woods for years. No matter how many times I read the importance of a proper knife, axe and firelighting equipment they still were not and are not the first things I've prioritized.
Since the temperature in Estonia is below zero and thick snow coveres the ground from November to about March, I'm not going to be much use to anyone if I'm not wearing proper clothes. Some winters ago I could not wait for the bus in January longer than 10 minutes before I started to shiver uncontrollably and I couldn't feel my toes. That's why in Estonian context I am currently focusing on getting my clothing right, because that means I will stay alive in the winter if something ought to happen.