Wood Burning stove for the home?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

resnikov

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Kind of bushcrafty my question as its about a fire to burn wood, but has anyone fitted and installed a wood burning stove in their own home?

Currently in the middle of major house renovations and have started to get the quotes in for a stove and the twin wall chimney. The fitting of the chimney is nearly twice as much as the stove so I was wondering could I do it myself. I'm not good at DIY but luckily I have a few mates who are.

Is it a lot of hassle or is it better to get a pro in?

British Red

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
You will need HETAS certification when you come to sell the house, but I believe you can do the installation yourself and get a HETAS inspection after the event.

Theres a lot more to it than just the twin wall - cowls, airbricks, pouring insulation down the chimney around the flue, making blanking plates and installing etc.

All that said, I have known people do it themselves and make a great job of it!

Badger74

Jun 10, 2008
Ex Leeds, now Killala
I had this dilemma, but putting the house up for sale solved the issue.

If I wasn't selling, I'd consider it myself, but if you need to be covered by insurance of anything else like that it needs to be signed off by a 'competent and approved fitter' who subscribes to some stove/boiler fitting body, much the same vein as if you had gas work done, the plumbers had to be approved by Gas Safe and able to sign it off. As to how hard it is, I've no idea.

mousey

Jun 15, 2010
NE Scotland