wood burning stove advice

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

cowboy

Banned
May 3, 2010
The shire
Hi guys, for Christmas iv decided to treat myself to a new wood stove for my lavvu. It will only be used in winter months really.. so where I'm heading with this is the frontier stove has always been top of the list but today I came across this..
,http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B009L5ZPPA/ref=aw_d_iv_sports?is=l

To start with its a pretty good price knocking around 50 big ones of the frontier stove, but does it lack in quality? If the millitery use them would they be fairly robust?

If anyone has any experience with them I'd love to hear what you think! Also any other comment welcome! :)

Kind regards,

Cowboy

treadlightly

Jan 29, 2007
Powys
I've no experience of them but the shipping costs bump things up considerably. Not a huge amount cheaper than the Frontier when you take that into account.

bigroomboy

Nomad
Jan 24, 2010
West Midlands
I think somebody brought this up a couple of weeks ago but I can't remember the title of the thread to find it. IIRC the vie was with postage it was a similar price and quality. I'm sure I have seen reviews on this stove on youtube.

I have no experience with the frontier stove but I have read people thoughts that it is not great as a lavvu stove, narrow flue can block, low capacity, lack of baffle means the flue gets very hot and can waste heat.

I have seen some heavy army surplus stoves that are a similar price if taking it by car or I think the Helsport lavvu oven is considered a good stove.

Hope thats some help

TROOPER

Aug 17, 2009
essex
Hi Cowboy