wilderness firestarting, false !!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

rockrat

Jan 13, 2007
Pontefract
hi all.
my first post here and i hope not to be too contraversial.
but, one of the issues i have is with friction firestarting. i have been dabbling with bushcraft for many years, and can succesfully create friction fire with my prepared kit.
but what i have not been succesful with is when i attempt to use woods and tinder found at the scene, rather than my prepared kit.

to me this is what friction firestarting is all about. Assume that you have nothing, your kitbag has been lost, and you literally have only what is on your person to build your fire.
obviously you will have your knife, and a shoelace to make a bow on your person.

but i would really like to see a online video, or a detailed explaination of what woods to look for etc, and any tips on how to use the resources around you to make the fire.

after all, when i go camping, even though i can friction start a fire, i dont carry my prepared kit. I take a lighter!!, why.... cos its smaller.
making firesticks is a given and simple enough, but getting the drill to work in wet conditions with recently found woods has eluded me

matt

Seoras

Mod
Mod
Oct 7, 2004
Bramley, Hampshire
Hi Rockrat

Welcome to the forum.

You will get many answers to this and if you use the search facility you will find out a lot of information on the subject.

Personally I have found it difficult but not impossible. If you find dead ivy or clematis that is still hanging you have a ready prepped hearthboard requiring only splitting. Look for woodworm marks on ivy to spot the dead stuff.

I use hazel as it in abundance in my area as a drill and you can usually find a fairly dry piece to shape.

Put together with a bit of effort and you should get results.

Good luck

George

rich59