wild coastal camping and foraging.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
May 4, 2012
Yorkshire
Hi folks, I had this trip not the weekend just gone but the one before when we had the lovely weather. It started out on Friday morning when I went rabbit hunting with the old retro BSA 2.2 air rifle, as usual I came back to the car empty handed!(im a novice lol), and on the way home what did I see? low and behold a dead rabbit on the side of the road. So anyway after a thorough inspection I decided to go home and have a go at gutting and skinning the poor unfortunate critter, so straight onto you tube to find me a few tutorials. Turned out not to be so tough as i expected. At that point I decided that i would pack some kit and go off to the coast for a couple of nights, and the bunny was coming with me. As always I was rushed for time, being sponteneous and never planning, so when I arrived although i had scouted the area before,last year some time, I gave it another scout to make sure I could find a nice secluded spot in the woods and near the beach.
So anyway having found my spot I pitched up my big tarp, i seem to favour this cheapo tarp these days because its much lighter than my other good quality tarp but a whole lot bigger! The only problem is it rips easy at the eyelets so dont think it would stand the heavy weather test. So anyway I thought this would be a great time to test my new bivvy bag also and with the hot weather i assumed that i would be ok without a sleeping bag.....boy was i wrong, i got no sleep on both nights due to being cold!Won't do that again!