Where to Go and Camp Out

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Green Dweller Beloved

Need to contact Admin...
Feb 6, 2007
Hampshire
Hi,

I'm new to all this so bear with me.

Me and a couple of friends want to set off into the wilderness somewhere with enough food to last us three days. We want to walk maybe 5-10 miles per day and settle down at say 5:00pm to build a camp with a fire.

I'm a bit worried about getting into trouble with the law for either
A: camping where you're not allowed to camp or
B: Lighting fires where you're not allowed to light them.

We're thinking of somewhere remote like Bodmin moor for instance (we are from Surrey/Hants border).

What sort of places would you guys go to do this kind of thing?
Do you venture onto private land/estates? Do you get permission?
Or do you stick to public land where you're allowed to go?
Can you light a fire on public land? If not what is the penalty if you can't and get caught?

Cheers for any pointers here
Green Dweller Beloved

Agile

Forager
Dec 27, 2006
Bournemouth, Dorset
Green Dweller Beloved said:
I'm new to all this so bear with me.....
and settle down at say 5:00pm to build a camp with a fire.

Sorry to pick you up on this, but it's getting dark at about 5:20pm at the moment, and if you are new to it all and want to build a fire the last thing you will want to be doing is cutting firewood in the dark.

Please from a safety point of view think about stopping a good deal earlier, at least until you get the hang of making camp.

Sorry to preach, it's just I'm a novice too and know that it takes a while to get everything in gear.

Agile

Goose

Need to contact Admin...
Aug 5, 2004
Widnes
www.mpowerservices.co.uk
What sort of experience do you already have? Can give lots of advice but until we know more about you it can't really be tailored to your needs.