What vehicle for bushcraft?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

match

Settler
Sep 29, 2004
Edinburgh
I've been driving now for many years, but never my own vehicle - living in Edinburgh means that the need for one is quite low, since everything is in walking distance, and the buses are good for farther away places.

However, every now and then I think that I should consider investing in a vehicle (second-hand, reliable, not new or flashy) that will get me, some people and/or some equipment from A->B with as little effort as possible.

My only real limiting factors are:

Cost to buy - nothing more than say 5-6 grand - its not something I'll be using regularly (once/twice a week at most I expect).

Size - nothing vast or tiny - I don't need a tank or a mini (I'm 6'4" and wanting to park most of the time in a city, and at least drive in and out of it.

Running - I need something that doesn't cost the earth to fix, isn't too picky about not being run every day, and isn't too environmentally horrible to run (yes, I know that really rules out all vehicles :) )

So - any suggestions? What do other people use? Any general or specific comments about choosing? I'm interested to see what the bushcrafter-about-countryside drives about in (you don't ALL drive 4x4's do you? :confused: )

Tack

Tenderfoot
Feb 20, 2005
West Midlands
Match,
The obvious answer to your needs is a Land Rover, either the utilitarian 90 or 110 or a Discovery. They are plentiful and you should get a good one for your budget. I, however have reservations. Although the Land Rover products are relatively easy to maintain and the spares are quite cheap they do break down too frequently compared to the competition from Japan.