What to look for in a Parang?

Lush

Forager
Apr 22, 2007
Netherlands
Hi all,

I have a roughly forged parang. It's beautiful already, but it's only the beginning. I can still go any direction with it as the dimensions leaf me enough room for almost any type of parang. I am inspired by the parang in the picture below. I have no experience with chopping blades at all and like to discuss the possibilities, do's and dont's of this type of knife. I have some input myself already:

Most parangs have a quite steep angle (just after the handle) which leads to the sharp part of the blade. I noticed that this angle, where the steel is not sharp yet, allows me to hold the blade and use the beginning of it (the blade) as a knife. Do you think it is important to have such a feature in a survival/bushcraft parang? Is this steep angle actually meant for holding the blade as a regular knife?

I have a dilemma which has to do with the handle:

The handle of the parang I am inspired by looks very, very nice in my opinion. It makes very nice lines. The corners are a bit too sharp for my likings though and I don't think it's very safe for chopping. So I was thinking of making a handle like in the lower picture. That handle is safer because the rear end widens and prevents the knive from slipping out of my hands when chopping. Only..., I don't like the looks of that handle, which is my dilemma, arggg. I want something that looks good to me AND has "the right" ergonomics. Any suggestions for another type of handle? (no traditional bent handle; I do not have enough steel for that in the handle area) I am going for a full tang solution btw.

thanks in advance!
Lush
------------

The picture below shows the design I am inspired by. It has a full tang handle:

Handle that's more save and gives a bit more control:

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod
Oct 6, 2003
Bedfordshire