What to do with a sewing machine?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Caerleon

Feb 9, 2015
West Mid's
Hi there,

Approx 6 months ago I bought a Singer 45k and put a new variable speed motor on it. I had the view of making my knife sheaths with it but just couldn't get a quality result so reverted back to hand stitching. I should add that I have very little experience (read non!) with sewing machines but love the idea of making something with it, so frustrating seeing it gathering dust :-(.

Anybody have any expertise in this area, are there any dvd instructional videos out there (or even better a days course or similar I could attend) so I can 1) learn the basics of using it 2) suggestions of what to make?

Cheers,
Rob

N

Nomad

I dare say instructional stuff can be found online on the likes of YouTube. I think I just used the pretty decent printed guide that came with my machine (a Brother domestic type).

As for what to sew, I think it depends on what you want. If I don't have anything specific to make, my machine just sits and does nothing - I don't feel a need to use it just because I happen to have it. When I do have something to sew, it's invaluable.