What sort of leather for a sheath?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

rigger_john

Sep 23, 2008
leicester
Ok I've decided to have a go at making a leather sheath for my new frost knife. I've never done any leather work before so I have a couple of questions that I haven't seen the answers to yet.

1 What sort of leather should I order from say, Le provo, how thick, what treatment ect

2 I noticed in one of the tutorials the leather was shaved down to make it thiner for folding, why not just use thiner leather to start with? what am I missing?

Looking forward to reading your answers.

Thanks

DKW

Forager
Oct 6, 2008
Denmark
1 What sort of leather should I order from say, Le provo, how thick, what treatment ect

I'd say halftanned leather, 2-3 mm thick. But almost anything will do for practise.

2 I noticed in one of the tutorials the leather was shaved down to make it thiner for folding, why not just use thiner leather to start with? what am I missing?
That it isn't the entire sheath that is being shaved down, that it isn't being shaved down into the same thickness all the way and that its halftanned leather, meaning it has a core with the same properties as rawhide. This untanned bit you wouldn't want to shave off, as that makes out the longivety and sturdiness of the sheath.
The sheath design in that tutorial requires the bladepart of the sheath to be shaved a bit down, to make it "fold and mold" better. Just like a piece of clothing has to have a nice fall/drop/hang to 1. look good and 2. feel good

Treatment: ANything you fancy really. Beeswax, leatherwax, leathersoap, leathervarnish, leatherdye, or even your shoepolish in various colours will do.
Trial and error will in time tell you what you like to use and what not.