What sharpening stone to buy? Need help

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

dan_druff

Aug 4, 2012
Hull, England
Im new to all this bushcraft lark, managed to make a few nice spoons and knife etc but the time has come to sharpen the knife (cheap mora companion).. I don't have a sharpener and am looking at buying one.. But which one?

I was going to go for the fallkniven dc4 but there have been many terrible reviews of the new ones, bumpy, falling to pieces and with the ''they don't make them like they used to'' vibe going on.

I'm not wanting to spend too much so none of these japanese water stones.. something in the range of the £10-£20 mark... Instead of trolling through webpages I thought ''who better to ask than everyone?'' so heres the thread :p

All suggestions and ideas would be much appreciated..

Thanks

shaggystu

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Nov 10, 2003
Derbyshire
dc4's do seem to get a bit of bad press these days, but they're still great little stones, i had to finally admit that there was no diamond left on mine recently so split it in half so that i could keep just the ceramic side. from what i understand the more recent fallkniven stones don't have quite the level of finish that they used to, but that shouldn't be a problem at all, if you do get one and the surface isn't up to scratch then five minutes of rubbing it on a bit of wet and dry paper on a nice flat surface should sort it out. if the diamond coated half and the ceramic half part company then i don't really see how that's a problem either, they could be glued back together really easily or just used as they are, two stones for the price of one, you even get a little pouch to keep them together.