Waterproofing Boots

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

martin

Nomad
Sep 24, 2003
nth lincs
I bought a pair of Berghaus Explorer 3 GTX boots yesterday. They are Gortex lined suede and fabric. What's the best product to use to keep them waterproof?
Oh and what does everybody use on their boots to keep water out?

TheViking

Native
Jun 3, 2004
Hi...

I've never used GTX boots before but they usually keep themselves waterproof, from what i've heard. If they get muddy then don't use soap to clean them. Only water.

You can buy a pair of GTX socks if that's any help. I will buy these soon, cause I only got a pair of leather boots. :wink:

hobbitboy

Forager
Jun 30, 2004
Erm... it's variable
Use nikwax cleaning products. They do a suede/nubuck cleaner which should be suitable. Theres a fair few "reproofers" you can use, I usually use an aerosol of specific "Goretex" stuff (made by grangers). Do 2 light coats instead of one thick 'un.

Go in to your local "outdoor shop" they should b able tell ya! if not they need a slap!

bigjackbrass

Nomad
Sep 1, 2003
Leeds
Nikwax liquids are excellent, not least because you can apply them to wet boots which makes them very handy in the field. Until recently I stuck doggedly with all leather boots, and will probably go back to them when my current Brashers wear out, and used mink oil. Chris Brasher, back in the days before the Brasher company started selling their own waxes and creams, always recommended any good wax polish and I'd suggest the same for leather. Mink oil does tend to soften and stretch the boot. Fabric/leather certainly benefits from the Nikwax treatment.