Tumble dryer fluff

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Faz

Mar 24, 2011
Cheshire
Sadly, I have been collecting the fluff from the tumble dryer for several months. Cue widespread laughter from family, however, I am finding that it makes great fire lighting material.

Anyone else got ideas for more weird stuff I can get from the house/garage/shed to use outdoor?

kiltedpict

Native
Feb 25, 2007
Banchory
Not so much weird, but strips of old inner tube make good wet-weather fire lighters.

Oh, I also collect the tumble drier fluff!

rik_uk3

Banned
Jun 10, 2006
south wales
Tumble drier fluff collection is a little.....strange, hence the family ridicule (and yes, it is a sad pastime), petrol is a better fire starter but contravenes many current health and safety regulations in this role so what is a bushcrafter to do?

Johnnyboy1971

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Dec 24, 2010
Yorkshire
I had a stunning collection of dryer fluff till the Mrs decided to go in the garage and threw it all away.
She still doesnt understand me.

Prawnster

Jun 24, 2008
St. Helens
I've never really understood the idea behind using tumble dryer fluff or any man made tinder for that matter. If you're going to practice with that kind of stuff you may as well use a match. Much better to try and use naturally occurring tinder if you can. It's not as if you are going to come across some tumble dryer fluff when you need a fire is it?
I'm no bushcraft purist, I don't bother with friction fire lighting techniques and I'm happy to use matches when a ferro rod is too much trouble. Inner tubes are different as I see them more as an emergency fire starter rather than tinder.