Trevor Ablett Pruner knife

Dave

Hill Dweller
Sep 17, 2003
Brigantia
Any of you use a pruner knife reguarly? And if so what for? I mean a folder, not a billhook.

122400_122429.jpg

peach-pruner-knife-rosewood.jpg
]

opinel_pruner.jpg

Last edited:

Paulm

May 27, 2008
Hants
Yep, cutting herbs, salad or veg in the garden, the hook ended blades help with catching and cutting the stems and leaves which tend to slide off the end of a normal blade.

Cheers, Paul

woof

Apr 12, 2008
lincolnshire
I work as a gardener, but use either a sak farmer or trail master. I like the idea of a pruning knife, but find the others far more practical.

Rob

feralpig

Forager
Aug 6, 2013
Mid Wales
I'm do gardening, grounds maintenance.
I also have an Ablett pruner, my EDC, which I have had for years, and has been sharpened so many times, it's nearly flat......
For most the cutting I do, a pruner shape blade is just so much better, whether it is actually pruning, or cutting string, or any other multitude of things.
The only thing it really lacks is a piercing point, but I can live with that.
When the going gets tough, I find the hook on the end allows more pressure to be put into the cut, without the fear of the blade slipping off whatever it is that's being cut.
Hate that Opinel, by the way, moreso than most Opinels, which is quite a bit.
I'm guessing that's designed with a specific purpose in mind. Certainly not something I would buy. The other two are right up my street. Apart from the Stainless blade. Gotta be high carbon for me, I'm afraid. Seems there is less high carbon pruners than stainless ones about. I think even Ablett has said he will be mostly making stainless.

Dave

Hill Dweller
Sep 17, 2003
Brigantia
I can see how they would have their place. Im not much of a gardener though. I wanted an ablett ettrick knife, in stag, [not camel bone] but Trevor Ablett stopped making his knives in Stag about 15 months ago.