Treeclimbing & Safety?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

TheViking

Native
Jun 3, 2004
Hi...

We had this discussion a long time ago on the danish outdoor life forum. 55 posts and 1469 views came up! :wink:
So I was wondering what you meant about it!?

You don't necessarily need to have climbing experience, to answer this one!

Do the society need a standard education to lead climbing activities?
Do we feel more secure when we undergo a course with someone who calls himself 'instructor'?...
... or has someone with 15 years of climbing experience more knowledge and can therefore lead activities, which a 'green' guy cannot because the need of experience? :shock:

Personally I have no experience with climbing other than a little free-climbing.
But I think that someone with 15 years of experience has more right to educate and do courses, than the one who just finished climbing school, and has *never* climbed before.

Practice.............. :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink:
Take an example: Ray Mears. He had no money to buy knives, books about bushcraft etc. when he was a kid, so he made he's own and discovered things himself until he was at the level he is today. That's 'Sapere Aude'... i don't think he needed to ask granddaddy all the time, what to do now... just figured out himself....! ?? :wink: (Just an example, this)

But what do people think? Sapere Aude or Education.?

ChrisKavanaugh

Need to contact Admin...