Trapping fish

gunslinger

Nomad
Sep 5, 2008
Devon
First question and I apologise if this has been done before.
Does anyone know of anywhere within 20 miles of Exeter that I can find Crayfish?

Also does anyone have experience of trapping eels and other fish as I believe there are eels in the Exe estuary.
So any tips and/or techniques would be useful.

Finally netting fish, is it possible to use smallish gill or siene nets to catch inshore fish working alone?
what are the legalities ie. do you need a permit or license?

Would your nets be damaged by others?

Just got some ideas I would like to try

Thanks all
GS

gunslinger

Nomad
Sep 5, 2008
Devon
Well I am surprised ,I would have thought fish would be an important part of the bushcraft diet.

Guess no one knows then.

Thanks for reading anyway
GS

Intertidal

Forager
Jan 26, 2008
Cornwall
GS,
I don't know of any freshwater crays in the SW - I believe they prefer calcium-rich water (chalk streams and the like) but I'm no expert.
I would imagine that there are eels in the Exe, but I've no experience of trapping, only catching on rod and line in tidal waters. Thats a night-time job by and large, but I prefer to fish for other species rather than eels.
Regarding netting - I used to fish commercially inshore using gill and tangle nets, longlines and pots. I'm not sure what byelaws are in the Exe area, but down here in Cornwall it is illegal to have any fixed net within 3metres of the surface at any state of the tide. This is to ensure that migratory fish (salmonids) are not impeded.
That means you will need a boat, rather than setting nets from the shore.
Seining within the estuary will almost certainly require a permit and on the open coast would be very difficult alone. I have seined with others - great fun, but not overly productive for the time, effort and capital cost involved.