Tool Kit - What do I need in it?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Minotaur

Native
Apr 27, 2005
Birmingham
As part of changing how I think about what I carry and how I use it, I have some questions that hopefully people on the forum can answer.

1) I am going to start carrying a bow saw with 2 blades, one for fine work and one for green wood. If you carry a bow saw what length do you use?
2) I am going to add some sort of rasp file. Does any one use or carry one? If so what make and model?
3) What do you carry to make holes in wood?
4) What is the difference in use between a hatchet, tomahawk and axe? I have basic axe experience however an thinking of changing to a tomahawk because of the advantage of using the head on its own.
5) I carry a knife, axe, saw, scrapper, draw knife so what else do you carry and why?

i presume you talk about a tool kit for the woods?!
my preferred length for bow saws (and bucksaws) is 19" , but here they have only 21" available which still works o. k. anything longer seems to "wobble sideways" too much which makes straight cuts more difficult...
over here i also often carry the local "collection of compromises/ jack of all trades --master of none" a.k.a. "machete" or a parang or nata

Reactions: bds and Minotaur

Stew

Bushcrafter through and through
Nov 29, 2003
Aylesbury
stewartjlight-knives.com
The simple answer is that you need the tools for the jobs you plan to do.

For me, I’ve never had a use for a rasp or drill when in the woods but if you have different tasks planned then go for it. No one can really tell you what you should carry...

Reactions: Minotaur

Broch

Life Member
Jan 18, 2009
Mid Wales
www.mont-hmg.co.uk