The Cegga/Red axe review (Part 2)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Joff

Forager
Jul 31, 2005
Somerset
Well, as promised here is the 'in use' part of the review. I'm no expert so a lot of this is purely subjective but hopefully useful to somebody.

I got to use the Cegga axe today for the first time in anger (well pleasure actually :) ). The first thing was to try a featherstick but this time on something a little more challenging.
cegga-featherstick.jpg

The control on such a small item was very good indeed and it shaved very smoothly. I tried the same with the Wildlife hatchet and it did a similar job but produced thicker shavings and was slightly harder to control. Of course some of this could so easily be down to my last sharpening of the GB! Anyway, I was impressed!

Now on to some chopping. I used a fallen Scot's Pine branch that was approximately 8cm thick. Both axes seemed to fair the same. I couldn't really tell any difference between them at this point (maybe my inexperience). Penetration was about the same for both axes though the Cegga may have made it a couple of mm deeper each time. The most obvious difference was how the edge landed on the wood. In both cases the axe was swung from a semi-crouch with the head travelling about 50cm downwards. The GB presented approx. 50% of its edge to the chop from that position whereas the Cegga had about 80% of its edge in contact with the wood. This has everything to do with the shape of the handle. The other noticeable difference between the 2 was again due to the handle shape. The shape of Cegga's axe handle put less strain on the wrist than the straighter handle of the GB providing a more comfortable angle in use.
ceggaGB-chop.jpg