'Survival' Fishing Rod

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

mattburgess

Tenderfoot
Jun 22, 2009
Wivenhoe
Hi

I'm a bushcraft novice and even more so when it comes to fishing! Saw loads of people fishing from the beach this weekend and would love to have a go at this - especially as I'm going to be setting up my own home smoker soon! I would also like to have a go at river/lake fishing. I’m interested in eating the fish not doing it for just the sport.

Basically I want advice on rods (probably fishing methods go hand-in-hand with this!?). I suspect my wish list below will be completely unrealistic and requires at least two, if not more, rods…here goes anyway!
• Must be a compact rod for putting in the back pack etc. I hear that pack rods are preferable to telescopic at they are less likely to break/be faulty.
• Something suitable for shore fishing. The ones I saw this weekend look about 3metres long so ‘compact’ may not be an option! What are your thoughts?
• Suitable for any other type of fishing…river, lake etc.

Can I get a rod that will do all of these things or is that just wishful thinking? Do not want to spend a load of money on something that I may not use very much. On the other hand I’m willing to pay for something good in quality that will last and fit most scenarios.

Appreciate any advice guys.

Intertidal

Forager
Jan 26, 2008
Cornwall
Firstly you are right in your assumption that one rod will not do it all.
Your choice will depend on what type of shore fishing you want to do.
Here is a very basic breakdown of what I do for different purposes:

Beach fishing - 12foot 2-piece beachcasting rod, multiplier reel, 15lb line with 60 lb shockleader. This set up is used to cast long distance and fish on the bottom. It can also be adapted to fish from rock platforms, or even fish a large float rig.