Slightly bent tip?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

brettguise

Jan 29, 2012
Stourbridge
I bought a Mora clipper knife yesterday just a cheap one to skin with and the tip has already been bent slightly (DOH!) How easy is it to straighten the tip as it was nice and sharp yesterday lol. Would the best way be to sharpen the knife on a stone? I'm extremely new to knife sharpening I have a stone in the shed I think I can use with two different roughness sides on it that's the best way to describe it lol.

Thanks for any help I receive :)

The Big Lebowski

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 11, 2010
Sunny Wales!
You could heat the tip (for no more that a few seconds) before tapping it gently with a hammer on something metal and flat... Its not fool proof so you may loose the tip as the damage has already been done.

If you just bought it, I doubt it will need sharpening. Sounds like its in for a fairly short life, as-is :) I'll dig you up a sharpening video anyways.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qWQZ_yEyVM8

Last edited:
Sep 24, 2005
Aberdeenshire
Hi Brettguise,
I definitely wouldn't try to straighten the tip, as it may snap, and even if it doesn't and you can bend it straight, it will always be a bit weaker.
I would try carefully filing / grinding the 'bend' out of it, assuming the bend isn't too great. Just keep sighting along the spine as you go, and when it looks straight, work on the profile (side on) as you will probably have rounded the point off. This can be corrected by drawing a coarse stone along the tip edge until you have a 'point' again, then work on the bevel to get it sharp. If you use a grinder, always use plenty of water to keep the blade cool, or the heat may take the temper out of the blade and the steel will soften.