Silva Expedition 54 Compass

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

mojofilter

Nomad
Mar 14, 2004
bonnie scotland
After a recent "adventure", which involved sailing about 6 miles down Loch Lomond in near zero visibility conditions (5 to 10 yards max :O), I decided to brush up on my navigational skills. We were pretty well equipped and the journey was uneventful, albeit slow, due to having both GPS and compas as well as the appropriate map. I have been using a Garmin E-trex for a few years now and it has never let me down before, but if I hadn't had a compass as well, it would have been an unplanned night on the islands, again not a great problem, but not ideal with no beer....:D Basically the problem was, in a small boat in zero visibility, it is pretty much impossible to tell if you are going in a straight line at low speed, so the GPS which relies on movement to determine your bearing is pretty much useless, apart form telling you where you are. Without both GPS to establish position, and compass to establish and follow a bearing, the journey would have been foolhardy to make.

Anyhoo, enough of the drivel, I decided I wanted a new compass which was capable of taking accurate bearings to position myself without the electronic wizardary, as well as doing the map work, so after some research, it was between the Silva Ranger 15TDCL or the Recta or Suunto equivelant, and the Silva Expedition 54. I decided to go for the Expedition 54 in the end as part of my birthday present and it duly arrived from www.maps-warehouse.co.uk on Thursday, having been ordered on Tuesday. This was the cheapest I could find it in the UK.

silva54_web.jpg