Sew or throw???

munkiboi182

Jan 28, 2012
taverham, thorpe marriott, norfolk
whilst sitting here sewing the inner lining back into my favourite thinsulate fingerless gloves, i started wondering how many of us actually repair our kit or simply throw it away and replace it. i've got a pair of issue gore-tex trousers i've been using for over ten years now and they dont have a single one of the original stitches in them but still just as good as the first day i bought them. i just re-seal once a year and stitch up any holes.

Globetrotter.uk

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 24, 2008
Norwich UK
im just thinkimg of sewing my lads coat, it will last him a little longer. but he would throw it and ask me for a new one.

Feb 15, 2011
Elsewhere
I repair everything until it can be repaired no more..................then it gets dismembered & put into the treasure box, awaiting it's turn for a new lease of life as something completely different...the wait may be long, years even but eventually it's time will come :D

monkey boy

Jan 13, 2009
london
I repair everything until it can be repaired no more..................then it gets dismembered & put into the treasure box, awaiting it's turn for a new lease of life as something completely different...the wait may be long, years even but eventually it's time will come :D

I love that attitude 

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK

That's just what I do - repair the patches that repair the garment!

Ogri the trog

Magentus

Settler
Oct 1, 2008
West Midlands
To quote Bon Scott;

'And I've got patches on the patches
On my old blue jeans
Well they used to be blue
When they used to be new
When they used to be clean'

Snowfire

Forager
Jan 10, 2010
Cotswolds
Fix it up with one exception - if it affects safety then it's going in the recycling or the bin. So a bit of wire holding a stove together would probably be a no-no for me, other than as a field repair.

craeg

Native
May 11, 2008