Seax

May 14, 2013
United Kingdom
Hello All,
This is my first post to these forums.
My name is Frank and I am a knife designer and have always been interested in bushcraft and history, I have designed a knife based on the Anglo Saxon Seax.
I would very much like to show you a new Knife design I have come up with, it is an age old Anglo Saxon design but I have re-designed the format and added
some necessary changes to the knife.

Knife Description:
13 inches OAL
8 inch BL
5 inch Handle

It is sharp from Hilt to nose
It has a good piercing point
Saw back that works
Match striker/ or hammer
Screws in handle for quick change if needed
Brass Guard
Crusher

But if you look at the knife you can see that it is of the most robust construction, it has a full tang
and is guaranteed to give years of work without any worry about how the knife will stand up.
As you can see the prototype has been hand forged and is extremely tough.

465798_10201078941034725_2081733543_o.jpg

Sincerely,
Frank Docherty (MCHC)

Last edited:

Seoras

Mod
Mod
Oct 7, 2004
Northwich, Cheshire
www.bushcraftdays.com
Hi Frank

Thanks for sharing details of this knife.

I do like the Seax style of knife.

I have edited out some of your text as I read it as commercial.

Please contact me by PM and I will let you know the membership options open to you as a Maker.

George

Dreadhead

Bushcrafter through and through
welcome to the forum

I love the original seax design which has been unchanged for centuries, and for good reason i think. Your knife seems a combination of seax and survival tool. I can see you have put a lot of thought and effort into the extra features which are good for a survival tool, but perhaps too much for a simple knife. I would have a simple seax anyday, but that is just my opinion. good luck with your knife, and would like to see a video review of how it performs as it may very well change my mind

Dave Budd

Gold Trader
Staff member
Jan 8, 2006
Dartmoor (Devon)
www.davebudd.com