Scissor advice please?

British Red

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
I'm looking to get myself a couple of pairs of quality, second hand scissors. Probably six inch or so size. Not looking for dress making shears, but general use workshop scissors. Can anyone advise please on good makes and types to look out for?

British Red

Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
Thanks, not looking for new items, or serrated. I guess I'm thinking there must be some good, old makes that can be hand sharpened out there?

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Any of the old 'Wilkinson Sword' ones sharpen up well. Modern-ish (I've been using mine for over twenty years now and they are still excellent) that say Fiskars, and not made in China, are worth trueing up.

Honestly BR, in competent hands, so long as the shears haven't been totally abused, the middling aged ones all are sound when renovated.

J. Rodger's and sons are good, and I have Wright's too, (they used to be marked Kutrite) and they are excellent, so are the older (not black handled) Singer ones, and they came in different sizes.
J. Nowill & Sons are another reputable company.

I can have a trawl through ebay for vintage ones that I'd buy if that's of any help ? Tom will probably have a fair idea of good ones to recommend too though :D

M

Last edited:

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
These for instance are bog standard household scissors, I have two pairs that must be identical to this set, and they're unremarkably just 'the scissors', but that very unremarkability is underpinned by the simplicity of ease of use and utter reliability.
They work :D they always cut cleanly, and they do so right to the very tips.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SCISSORS-..._DefaultDomain_3&hash=item3cf4715150#viTabs_0

These ones 'should' be sound, but there's something off about the way the very tips lie :dunno: might just be the photo.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/VINTAGE-H...835?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item234c752483

M