Sami-style coffee bag in reindeer leather

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

SaraR

Mar 25, 2017
Ceredigion
Just finished sewing this Sami-style coffee pouch in reindeer leather using a kit from Casström.

First time doing anything in leather in a long time and I've never worked with such thin leather before.

Luckily there is enough leather left to make a second one for when the appropriate tools arrive.

But I am rather pleased with how this one turned out in the end.

IMG_20230412_194435892.jpg

IMG_20230412_194448436.jpg
IMG_20230412_194529078.jpg

IMG_20230412_194515002.jpg

TeeDee

Nov 6, 2008
Exeter
I'm trying to work out how the pattern would have looked before you started?

Would you have not achieved a near similar outcome with just a circle of leather ? or would it have 'bunched' at the neck?

Nice65

Brilliant!
Apr 16, 2009
W.Sussex
Nice little bag that. I’ve always fancied a coffee bag, but having had a fairly spectacular ground coffee accident in the campervan recently, I’m not sure it’s a great idea. :eek:

Until recently I had one of the little coin purses in the same leather, it’s lovely and flexible. Lost it though, no money in it, but it had a tooth from one of our dogs who died last Christmas.

SaraR

Mar 25, 2017
Ceredigion
I'm trying to work out how the pattern would have looked before you started?

Would you have not achieved a near similar outcome with just a circle of leather ? or would it have 'bunched' at the neck?
It’s actually surprisingly straight-forward:
- Front and back are two of those filled in U-shaped pieces.
- Then there is a long rectangular strip that goes all around the bottom and sides (this can be made up of 2 rectangles sewn together with a seam on the short edge (which will end up at the bottom) if you don’t have large enough a piece of leather).