Rucksack advice please

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

IntrepidStu

Settler
Apr 14, 2008
Manchester
I have no idea about this kind of stuff. I need something general purpose. It has to transport lots of stuff to meets (sleeping bag etc) so should have the abilty to somehow lash lots of stuff to it easily, and be tough enough to be thrown around whilst on camps. If possible it should have lots of compartments so you know where your stuff is and being sure you wont spill your water bottle everywhere. It should also be comfy enough to do the pennine way.

Remember guys, Im a complete newby with this stuff, so no accronyms without explanations please.

Thanks in advance.
Stuart.

SimonM

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Apr 7, 2007
East Lancashire
www.wood-sage.co.uk
You don't want much, do you Stu? Huge, strong, with compartments and comfy!

IMHO, you should avoid the issue bergan as it rides high and you can't use the hip belt properly. This means that all the weight is on your shoulders and this leads to fatigue.

I like the Karrimor Sabre range. I have used the 45L and 60 -100L, but now own a 75L. This are well made, relatively comfy when loaded and have detachable side pouches which make a daysac up.

If you want to try mine for size next weekend, you are more than welcome!

Simon

sapper1

Feb 3, 2008
swansea
Any of the quality makes will do the job,you just need to get the right capacity.
Go yo your local outdoor shop and try them on.Make sure you load it with some weight to settle it on your shoulders

saddle_tramp

Need to contact Admin...
Jul 13, 2008
West Cornwall
Id say the fit is just as important as when buying boots, so try your mates packs, or go to a camping shop and try a few on (loaded!) then search for the same model and backsize online

IntrepidStu

Settler
Apr 14, 2008
Manchester