Rosehips, which ones?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Ecoman

Sep 18, 2013
Isle of Arran
www.HPOC.co.uk
I posted this originally in another thread but thought it was a bit of a cheeky hijack so decided to post here instead

I've never done anything with rosehips before. I remember my nan making stacks of rosehip jelly and I thought it was fantastic. I wouldn't min having a go at making some myself. The only rosehips I have found near me so far are great big fat ones like cherry tomatoes. The ones my nan used looked like the ones in blacktimberwolf's photo below. Can I use the fat ones or am I on the hunt for a specific variety?

DSCF9892.jpg

the ones I have around me look like this...
rose_hip_finlaystone3037a.jpg

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
I use any of them. The only problem is that the big ones are more likely to be maggoted, so watch as you pick them.
You can actually just nibble the flesh off the big ones for a pleasant munchie when out for a wander; just don't eat deeply enough to get to the wee hairy bits and they're fine :)

Apparantly the further north they grow the higher the VitaminC content. British ones are pretty good that way :)

cheers,
Toddy

Ecoman

Sep 18, 2013
Isle of Arran
www.HPOC.co.uk
Thanks for the info folks. I'm off out collecting haws this afternoon so I will keep my eyes open for some of the other types as well.

I might just spend an hour this evening, while the daughter does Taekwondo, collecting some of the larger ones too.

mountainm

Bushcrafter through and through
Jan 12, 2011
Selby
www.mikemountain.co.uk
I use any of them. The only problem is that the big ones are more likely to be maggoted, so watch as you pick them.