rainforest or arctic?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

george

Settler
Oct 1, 2003
N.W. Highlands (or in the shed!)
What do you prefer and where have you been?

There have been a couple of questions posed in various threads recently either to do with the rainforest or the arctic/boreal forest. There is obviously a lot of knowledge on this forum and an awful lot of experience too. So tell us a little bit about yours.

I've never really spent any time in really cold conditions (snowholes in the Alps or the Cairngorms excluded!) so I've got limited knowledge on the Arctic or Boreal forests in winter. However the idea of extended travel on foot in winter facinates me so thats where I would like to head for next.(once the dogs die and the kids leave home that is:wink: )

Outside the UK most of my experience is in the rainforest. In the late 80s through to the mid 90s I spent a lot of time in SE Asia. Mostly Indonesia. I probably spent 6 months of each year in the forest. Most of the time I spent in North Sulawesi but I was also in Irian Jaya for about 6 months (Incredible place!) and in the Moluccas and various islands throughout the archipeligo.

I miss the forest sometimes- I did a lot of growing up there, but I'd love to see somewhere really cold too. What about you?

George

bambodoggy

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Nov 10, 2004
Surrey
www.stumpandgrind.co.uk
I've done a long weekend in Norway with the TA....loved it and really want to go back and wonder around on my own (or with a mate) for longer....and be more bushcrafty than military.

I'm also desperate to go up to the Canadian northern territory's, the Yukon etc but not sure how to go about organising it.