Portable firepit

durulz

Need to contact Admin...
Jun 9, 2008
Elsewhere
That looks incredibly easy to make, and I'm sure you could do it at a fraction of the weight/bulk.
Firstly, you can buy cheap grill trays from Wilkinsons/Morrisons/Wherever, then all you need is a way of suspending it over the fire. For that you could either use four trimmed branches - one in each corner, with the gridle on the top; or you could buy some metal poles and use those instead. Or you could suspend it from a tripod.

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
It was more a case of getting the fire up off the floor and the fact that it packs down flat makes sense.

I could probably make something similar but I wouldn`t save much on £25

Seoras

Mod
Mod
Oct 7, 2004
Northwich, Cheshire
www.bushcraftdays.com
I have been using one for two years now.

I picked one up at my local garden centre for £10 in their winter sales.

Generally it is an excellent bit of kit.

With the sides up it is an excellent barbeque or fire box. After all the cooking has been done I drop the sides and use it as an open but raised fire.

The only trouble I have had with it is that the nuts that keep the legs on tend to come off over time. As they get lost I have just stuff a tent peg into the holes to keep the legs connected to the main body.

Overall a great bit of kit but not worth £50. I use it more than my Tentipi firebox because of the legs and having the ability to drop the sides when needed.

Cheers

George

P.S. Forgot to mention that I was a bit worried about it buckling when I first bought it. I placed an old grill pan in the bottom as it fits perfectly and it gives an added layer of steel but I suppose an extra sheet of metal will do the same job.

Wayland

Hárbarðr
It was more a case of getting the fire up off the floor and the fact that it packs down flat makes sense.

I could probably make something similar but I wouldn`t save much on £25