Plant id?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Mirius

Nomad
Jun 2, 2007
North Surrey
Now, I'm almost sure that this horse chestnut, but those pointy young leaves are throwing me off. It's a small plant, but could be a sapling as this is a shoot off a woody stem thats been broken/cut off. The leaf stalks certainly appear to join with the normal U shaped joint. Apologies for the photo, I'm surprised the phone managed to take it at all.

03-06-07_1612.jpg

xylaria

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
I know what you mean about the leaf shape, but veins on the leaf are offset in same way as horse chestnut, and you said the stem had the 'u' on it so I would say it was horse chestnut, but I am far from an expert on trees. For ID-ing purposes your picture is perfectly clear.

fred gordon

Mar 8, 2006
Aberdeenshire
I'm going to differ here! IF it is a tree is it not Sweet Chestnut. The pointed, slightly shiny leaves look more like that to me. Horse Chestnut has a larger, rounder, less shing leaf (I think!):rolleyes:

rancid badger

That looks like no conker leaf I've ever seen and I'm looking at the three year old saplings in the garden now-
oaky dokey checked : 'The Trees of Britain and Northern Europe' by; Alan Mitchell and John Wilkinson and it looks like you may have a sapling of Heldriechs Maple. to be honest, this isnt the best reference book, as it only has pen and ink drawings as opposed to photo's. I cant find my other books at the moment but it might be worth googling Heldrichs maple.
kind regards
R.B.

Mirius

Nomad
Jun 2, 2007
North Surrey