Opinel Knives - favourites?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Lurch

Native
Aug 9, 2004
Cumberland
www.lakelandbushcraft.co.uk
I've been scratching my chin and pondering stocking a few Opinel models.
However I'm not that familiar with the range and was just wondering if the forum hive mind could give me some pointers?
I definitely want the diddy keyring model, but what are your top 5 Opinel models?

Mesquite

It is what it is.
Mar 5, 2008
~Hemel Hempstead~
Opinel garden knife.

garden.jpg

I carry a No. 8 at all times. Yes I know with the lock it may be a bit of a grey area but as a landscaper I am oficially carrying a tool of my trade. I genuinely use it all day from slicing open pallets of stone, bags of aggregate or cement and cutting up my lunch apple. The No. 7 was too small and gave it to a fellow female gardening type. The No.2 I have as a key ring and is ok for clever whittling (and is just dead cute). My 8 year old daughter got a red childrens' knife, also available in blue (No.7 with a blunt point) for her birthday and foraged most of my elderflower fizz crop with it. AND I have the mushroom knife with real boar beard bristles...! Apart from my skandis, Opinel are true friends from France..........hc

Tadpole

Nov 12, 2005
Bristol
I carry my 6 everywhere, my EDC as it were (the locking ring pops off and back on again with ease) and I keep a No 7 for back up. Other than stropping them they hardly ever need to be sharpened on the stone, and they get used for cutting everything, from rubber mats to sausage.

Biker

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
My EDC is an Opinel No.17. It's an amalgamation of a No.8 and a No.9. (big blade's the number 8)
I had both in my back pocket on a hot day and they melted together like a bag of toffees. :lmao: