Newbie to Bushmoot - would like some advice

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Feb 23, 2016
London
Hello, I'm interested in attending Bushmoot this year. I've also looked at Wilderness Gathering. I can't do both. I've never been to either.

I've looked at some past posts comparing the two, it sounds like Bushmoot is more my style but I'd like to check with you guys.

Basically although I am experienced at hiking and camping I am pretty new to traditional bushcraft skills but eager to get some hands on learning. I'm interested in both wilderness survival and traditional craft skills and anything to get more in touch with nature like foraging and tracking.

Which event do you think is best for a newbie to get to try a lot of hands on workshops and gain new skills?

Also: which is easiest to get to from London on public transport?

Any advice greatly appreciated!

kard133

Mar 20, 2010
Bath
I can only comment as a day visitor to the Wilderness Gathering, but I have found the Bushmoot to be more relaxed and less commercial than the Gathering. There are several courses and classes usually offered during the core days catering to foraging and tracking, I am pretty sure that Fraser of Coastal Survival will be offering a foraging course again this year. The Moot itself will have attendees whose kit and skill set varies from Traditional to Modern, and pretty much everybody I have met there for the last five years has been happy to share knowledge and viewpoints. I would suggest, if you have not done so already, reading the Bushmoot thread to get an idea of the previous years courses and classes.