My Kit

Hey all.

Just been thinking about my kit recently and what I still need to get / replace. I am wanting to get some general opinions on some of the stuff I have.

So far I haven’t done much rough camping as I am still getting into it and I am also in the process of booking myself on the Woodlander course at Woodsmoke for next year.

I am also trying to learn what to take and what not to take as the case may be.

Kit List
65 Litre Rucksack (Extrem Alpine)
Basic Foam Roll Mat
- Been tempted to buy a air mat from Tiso, they were around £15 last I looked. Is it worth getting these?

Brittish Army Down Sleeping Bag
- I have been looking at the Alpkit Skyehigh ones and been tempted by them but this one I have seems to be great although it was given to my uncle (in the army, so it was his) who is rather small.

Brittish Army Basha (From an Army Surplus Store)
Dutch Army Bivi Bag
- Thinking about taking this to a place that can sew on a zip for me as I am lacking a sewing machine.

Magnesium Block and striker
- Looking to get a firesteel soon. Are the ones from Tiso any good? They have one with a black plastic handle and an orange handle. I am not sure of the difference except one lasts longer than the other.

Enzo Trapper Knife
Swiss Army Knife

Meths Burning Stove
- Now I am not sure which is better. Gas or Meths. When I was out with my mate the meths stove burned and boiled water quite slowly. So we decided to use the Gas Stove he had. What are the main benefits of each apart from the cooking/boiling times?

Compass (both a Military one and a Geological One)
Whistle

Books!
- When we went out we packed a few books (tree ID, Bushcraft etc…), they obviously add to the weight. Do you all take books out with you and if so what ones are you likely to take?

Torches
- LED small hand torch, freebie from work but works well.
- AA Maglite
- £10 head torch (cant remember the make)

CLOTHING
Regatta Micro Fleece
Regatta 3 in 1 jacket