My first thing ever! Nettle cordage!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Atellus

Jul 15, 2007
Warrington, Cheshire
But before I go on... because I do rather go on... I have a confession to make. This is not just my first attempt at making cordage. This is my first attempt at hands-on bushcraft at all! Before today I inhabited the lofty world of the Theoretical Bushcrafter: one who inhabits libraries or the couch in front of the TV and gleans information from books and documentaries, never applying any of it but preferring to observe from afar with feet up, mug of tea in hand, sandwich on standby while others get dirty, wet and cold.

But no more. Today I got stung! Actual physical sensation! You don't get that from a book (not the good quality paper, anyway).

So, speaking of stinging, back to nettle cordage. I recorded my efforts at various stages of the process for your viewing pleasure.

I heard that moan!

Just shut up and read it anyway. Suffering is good for the soul!

First, a picture of my intended victims

Myintendedvictims.jpg

Ain't that pretty? If only they knew...

My keen eye for observation tells me that these plants are probably what most people would call "green" nettles. I've read that the red ones are best, but I don't got none of those.

Having identified my prey, I proceeded to harvest a selection of plants using the nearest available sharp edge (I lack a poncey bushcrafty knife).

StanleyKnife.jpg

The stems were then stripped. I discovered that this goes much more quickly if one takes one's gloved hand (I'm a wimp) and runs it back from tip to base rather than working up the stem, plucking each leaf.

Then we come to the fun part: crushing the stem and splitting it. And look, I've grown a pair of balls! (Become brave enough to take the gloves off, that is.)

Splittingthestem.jpg