my first handmade knife

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

westie1

Dec 11, 2009
west yorkshire
Evening guys,
I spend many a fine hour on this forum and especially in crafts and diy drooling over your craftsmanship.

This is my first attempt at a small neck knife.
It's 01 3mm steel to my own design
Walnut scales with brass pin and lanyard tube.
The blade was hand cut and the bevel put on with a file jig.
Iv made a few mistakes as expected and it's taken a good while to make!

Thanks for the inspiration everyone I have my leather to have a go at next.
Thanks for looking

Rob

westie1

Dec 11, 2009
west yorkshire
Thanks for the kind words, works been quiet mid week for the last couple of weeks and it was the push I needed to start.

I picked up a 500w belt sander the other day from screwfix (50 quid in the sale and a bargain) to take some of the elbow grease out of my next knife.

I was terrified of ruining the knife with the filework, then the heat treating in my log burner, then using ultra fast setting ca glue for the hi-impact red liners rather than epoxy...... just bloody nerve racking haha but looking forward to my next :)

If your tempted I say give it a go at the very least youl learn something

p.s sorry for the massive pics iv not done this before

Robson Valley

Nov 24, 2014
McBride, BC
If you made some mistakes, sir, you are a very quick study.
Care to reveal how you did the pattern in the exposed edge of the tang?
How did you decide on the bevel angle choice?

westie1

Dec 11, 2009
west yorkshire
well lets just say you can see the better side of the blade, unfortunately on the other side I didn't get quite a sharp recasso (sp?) the bit where the blade begins. Il do better next time lol.