Mountain Survival

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Roy's Badger

Tenderfoot
Sep 21, 2005
Kernow
Hello guys,

thought I might pick your brains... I am thinking about an exped to the High Atlas mountains, and although I have extensive desert exped experience, I haven't got any mountain experience at all. So, I'm asking for any 'top tips' you may have; kit, bivvies, tarp shelters, techniques, thoughts, etc. The constraints will be size/weight of kit (smaller the better, sub 50 ltr if poss), differences in temp, protection from the sun, water, etc, etc.

So, up for the challenge? Any input greatly appreciated. :beerchug:

Phil562

Settler
Jul 15, 2005
Middlesbrough
This may be teaching you to suck eggs ;) however this can be a pointer to others who follow in your footsteps.

But, in my opinion many people fail on any type of expedition because of their lack physical/mental fitness.

I am not saying you have to be a high class athelete :p

I have spent some time in the mountains and in the desert and the people who find it toughest are those who are not physically/mentally prepared for the different surroundings.

On kit, the list is long, but may not differ from the desert surprisingly that much.

But what ever you decide to take, one thing many people recommend and I whole heartedly agree with is to get it on your back and test it out, if theres a niggle or problem with it adjust it and test again.

Failure to Prepare is to Prepare to Fail ;)

Good luck and let us all know how you got on.

Nyayo

Forager
Jun 9, 2005
Gone feral...