Moto Bushcrafting gear?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Wushuplayer

Tenderfoot
Aug 16, 2020
London
Hi,

My motorcycle is my main mode of transport the the moment, until it gets icy! I'm a beginner in both motorcycling and bush crafting (which I realise is probably a dangerous situation to be in!)

I was wondering if there was apparel that would be advantages in both disciplines? So clothing that is protective in terms of abrasion to road and bush, relatively shower proof, and spark resistant. Would it be better to ride to the site and change once there, but that means bringing extra gear?

Also I carry my equipment in waterproof tank and rear seat soft luggage bags which are designed to securely be strapped to the bike but they are not great if you need to carry them for a hike. Where as wearing a backpack or strapping it to the bike is not safe for riding especially in high wind conditions. So any solutions, suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Mowmow

Forager
Jul 6, 2016
Nottinghamshire
Hmm as with anything, anything you choose is a compromise.
Some gear is more comfortable in varying weather but less protective, some offers more comfort in the heat but may not be as weather resistant, leather is the best protection against road rash but can be uncomfortabke for high physical activity (off roading for example).