Most useful trees

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Tony

White bear (Admin)
Admin
Apr 16, 2003
Wales
www.bushcraftuk.com
Here at home I regularly comment that we should pull out this shrub and that bush and replace them with fruit trees, we've got a few around the place but I'm always happy to have more.

So my question is, what is in your opinions the most useful trees if I were to plan say another 3? I know there's some personal preference going to come out here but all suggestions welcome...

bobnewboy

Native
Jul 2, 2014
West Somerset
I'm no expert, but I'd suggest planting and tending some of the UK's more endangered native species, for fruit if you like, or for posterity if you dont. Trees like the True Service, Medlar, Quince, some vintage pear and apple varieties. Maybe some native ash the way things have been going......?

British Red

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
In term of pure utility and as a pretty tree you could do a lot worse than a sweet chestnut. Easy to start yourself from a but with no grafting required, beautiful bark and leaves and a delicious crop. When you fell it the timber is attractive and naturally rot proof.

Tony

White bear (Admin)
Admin
Apr 16, 2003
Wales
www.bushcraftuk.com
We have a few apple (not sure of variety) a plumb and a cherry.

Red, I jsut mentioned the chestnut to Shelly, boy she shot that one down quick, I like eating them, she obviously does not :D We've got a big chestnut out from, non edible though. She pointed out that next door has a huge sweet chestnut and I can go and get my fill over there :D

As for size limits, so so, I expect I could accommodate a few decent sized trees if i put them on the border of our property

santaman2000

Jan 15, 2011
Florida