Marples Wood Carving Set Gift

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Braidsta

Forager
Jul 29, 2013
Essex
500px.com
Afternoon all,

Since making the decision to get into bushcraft or whatever you'd call my outdoor chilling, I've got progressively more into some crafts that surround it, and cor, never been so content!

I'm really enjoying wood carving and slowly building my tool kit up. After some disappointing buys at bootsales I'd given up on getting some decent chisels at a price I can do.

Monday just gone, my girlfriend's dad gave me these as a gift. He sharpened them once when he got them aged 21, he's now retired and has never used them.

I'm new to this world but a box of marples chisels is not lost on me! I admit I'm struggling to get the technique right, they're razor sharp and I'm not gliding through wood like I'd imagined, so I'll persevere. The v-tool in particular I'm just scratching the wood with the underside, not carving nice long slivers out.

I have no way of holding the piece still, once I do I'm sure things will be easier (currently jamming it into the back step with my foot!)

I'm also slowly cleaning them up with some garyflex / loy block, they're more shiney now than in the above pic.

Not sure if anyone could offer a bit of advice on using them properly - I'm kool just learning from youtube, but I figured folk here might like to see them.

Thanks, have a good weekend!

Brady

Last edited:

GGTBod

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Mar 28, 2014
You need to learn the choking up grips these enable you precisely push the chisels through the wood, check out Wille Sundqvist, i wish i could explain how to do them in a forum post but i had to read 2 chapters of his book to learn them myself and then put in plenty of practice.

Awesome chisels BTW i have the exact same set in my collection