leather dye

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Phil-N

Nov 22, 2005
South Yorkshire
hello all
I've been lurking for a few months now and have been impressed by the things
you guys make. I thought i'd have a go - so i made a sheath for my knife {pic in gallery}. Since that i made a new sheath for my leatherman + a belt to put em on.
Problem is when i dye the leather i get blotches or streaks- wots the secret of putting the dye on evenly ?
Also do i need to seal the dye- will it rub of onto my clothes when i wear the belt?
Any help please

Phil

singteck

Settler
Oct 15, 2005
Malaysia
www.flickr.com
Hi Phil,

Welcome to BCUK!

I am also a beginner in leather work having started using my first bottle or dye. Maybe the others would help you along.

All my leather are dyed quite dark to hide the blotches. I find that when I apply the dye and and let the leather absorb the dye until saturated, it's quite presentable. Of course like I say all my leather are quite dark. Can't dye it lightly.

singteck

leon-1

Phil, there are a couple of different types of dye, there is the standard Feibings leather dye and then there is the Fiebings professional oil dye.

With both damp the leather a little first, then using a cotton ball (sorry can't think of the proper name, but it is made from the same stuff as your T-Shirts) wipe the dye across the leather. Work in straight lines running in the same direction untill you have totally covered the piece, then move the direction of travel by 90 degrees and do the same, you sould end up with this ### sort of pattern. if you then change through a 45 degree angle and do the same again and then by another 90 degrees, that should give you an even covering.

Grimnir

Forager
Jun 24, 2006
Northants