Lavvubie

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

ed_is_dead

Feb 4, 2014
Ireland
Thanks to Snozz I recently took delivery of TwoDogs old Frisport Krokskogen 8 to 10 man Lavvu. I have no experience with these shelters so any advice welcome.

Seems it was largely unused before I got it so does not have the hat or guy lines fitted and finding out info on this is difficult. Frisports online pdf guide is in Norwegian but i got a rough outline on how to pitch from it, still spent a half hr flapping with it though lol. Tips on pitching appreciated. Was thinking of measuring out some string to mark pegging points?

Some pics I've seen online show the hats guylines tie off to the triangular flaps uppermost (head height), while some have the lines guyed through upper and lower points and then pegged out.
Any advice? Id like to leave the hat on and wont be using a fire for the meantime. I'd also like to guy out the tent.

Heres some pics...

Its big!

Mossie doors are nice but none on the peak for the hat...wonder are they available?

Speaking to Jed in TrueNorthOutdoors and one thing he mentioned was there were a couple reports of drips from here in later models, a combination of overlapping of seams, stitching and tape conspiring.
Im not sure how new the Krokskogen is but I'll seam seal here. Any advice on the best product to use? Never used it.

As an aside, for the temp groundsheet i used an IPK shelter systems tarp. Not bad for a fiver and the cordage and pegs are great.

Pack wise I cant complain, seven and a half kg including the above tarp.

Thanks for advice in advance.
C.

Goatboy

Jan 31, 2005
Scotland
I do like the look of that shelter, so much lighter than my Tentipi. Have seen a couple up and they seem to be the dogs happy bits. Good luck getting to know it and look forward to hearing how it all goes.

baggins