knife skills in preparing fish.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
W

wildkatz

hello there, Im a trainee fishmonger. if anyone has some piccys or tips on how to clean and prepare fish would be great..Ive just started out. new also to bushcraft.
Also if anyone knows a bushcraft Rick Stein? Ta wildkatz. :beerchug: :beerchug: :beerchug: :beerchug:

match

Settler
Sep 29, 2004
Edinburgh
The following page sums up gutting and cleaning a fish for cooking:

http://www.i4at.org/lib2/clnfish.htm

This page shows filleting (once the fish has been gutted/washed):

http://www.toptrout.co.uk/acatalog/Toptrout_How_to_fillet_a_fish_25.html

Hopefully this shoudl give you enough info to be going on. A lot of fishmongers may sell you ungutted fish - this is a good way to get to practive these steps without needing to be able ot catch anything!

As far as bushcraft cookery goes - what are you looking for? There's quite a few of us on here that would consider ourselves good cooks, both in the kitchen and out in the field :D

ilovemybed

Settler
Jul 18, 2005
Prague
Firstly, well done in picking fishmongery up as a trade. It's an art that's underappreciated these days.

I hope they teach you gutting on your first day. The technique described in the link that Match posted is good for most fish, and a skilled hand can take a fish from flapping around to clean and sleeved in about 20 seconds, which proves it's not complicated. The art is being able to do it smoothly, so that all the guts and the front fins come out in one lump. It's almost impossible to describe, but really easy to do so get someone to show you.