Knife comp entry...Knife complete

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

HillBill

Bushcrafter through and through
Oct 1, 2008
W. Yorkshire
Hi folks.

I've never done a WIP before, so thought i would this time, along with making my first Bowie. Forgive me if its not upto the standard of some of the other WIP threads i have seen:)

Ok, here we go.

This knife is being made for the knife comp, i agreed with Brancho that i would make a stick tang knife for the first time. I didn't want to make a puukko though. I've always admired a certain Bowie i had seen online, so i used that for the inspiration for this one. Its not your standard clip point style of bowie, i prefer this style.

The steel is 4.6mm D2, and the knife has a 10" Blade and will have an overall length of around 15"

Here are the starting materials i had, A big piece of D2, some 6mm angle brass, and a nice block of Yew for the handle. Total cost to me... £0.00p ;). I figured i'd see what i could make for free, rather than spending the £50. My steel supplier gave me the D2 to try when i went in, set up an account and paid cash of 8 meters of 01, the angle brass was given by a mate when i first started making, it was the legs for my gas bottle forge i used when i first started. The yew is cut from some big logs i have that i cut down from a neighbours garden about 3 1/2 years ago.

P1020560_zpscf766e09.jpg

Blank cut out and shaped

P1020563_zps2ca0e75f.jpg

Ready to start grinding. I had to clamp an extra piece of steel to my grinding plate to accommodate the size of the blade, as this is waaay bigger than the normal bushy type knives i've made for the last 3 years.

P1020564_zpsfd6ca33d.jpg

A couple of hours later, the rough grinding is done

P1020568_zpsf2f036ac.jpg