John Fenna, canoe guru

Humpback

On a new journey
Dec 10, 2006
1/4 mile from Bramley End.
John very kindly agreed to give me some canadian canoe instruction at Cardigan this weekend just gone, following my intro here where I expressed my interest in canoe camping/bushcraft.
As a beginner I didn't know what to expect, but was very pleasantly surprised by his gentle and informative teaching style and had two great days practicing strokes and skills including poling and rapid running. This coupled with excellent wildlife spotting, bushcraft lunches and not falling in.
Anyone interested in learning canoeing with a view to overnight trips can do no better than contact John who also gave me a discount on his normal rate as a member of this group.
I hope to do more during this year and this weekend was a great intro and confidence booster. Many thanks John.

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire
John very kindly agreed to give me some canadian canoe instruction at Cardigan this weekend just gone, following my intro here where I expressed my interest in canoe camping/bushcraft.
As a beginner I didn't know what to expect, but was very pleasantly surprised by his gentle and informative teaching style and had two great days practicing strokes and skills including poling and rapid running. This coupled with excellent wildlife spotting, bushcraft lunches and not falling in.
Anyone interested in learning canoeing with a view to overnight trips can do no better than contact John who also gave me a discount on his normal rate as a member of this group.
I hope to do more during this year and this weekend was a great intro and confidence booster. Many thanks John.

Ditto ! :)

Thanks for a great weekend John, I've just booked my last remaining holidays for next week so I'll be out practising what I learnt.

Body boat blade, stacked hands and more vertical though the stroke and more body rotation.

ex-member Raikey

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 4, 2010