Is it illegal to sell medicinal weeds?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Geoff Dann

Native
Sep 15, 2010
Sussex
www.geoffdann.co.uk
I was wondering if anybody here knows more about the law on this than me. I know there are now regulations in place preventing people from selling preparations and pills made from wild plants - you aren't allowed to sell unregulated herbal remedies.

I'm not a medical herbalist - I'm a mushroom expert and becoming an expert in wild plants. Today I found something that turned out to be called "Pellitory of the Wall", and it is listed in several reference books as being medicinally useful for kidney complaints. Now...I already sell wild mushrooms and edible weeds to people, and there's no law against that. Is there a law preventing me from selling a non-edible weed to somebody because they've got a kidney complaint and want to try a herbal remedy?

In other words, can I be just a legal "seller of weeds" who claims only to have botanical knowledge rather than medical knowledge? Can I sell somebody a weed knowing that they intend to use it medicinally and yet still claim that I was merely selling them a weed?

Dannytsg

Native
Oct 18, 2008
England
I think legally you could sell it as a weed making reference to previously documented research about the item itself but not advocating it's use as a medicinal aid.

If you were selling specifically with the angle of it's use as a herbal medicinal aid then I think you may fall foul of the law but don't quote me on that.

I'm sure someone with more knowledge on this can jump in and correct me if I am wrong.

mountainm

Bushcrafter through and through
Jan 12, 2011
Selby
www.mikemountain.co.uk