Iron Fire Pit / Bowl

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Bartooon

Nomad
Aug 1, 2007
New Forest
Can anyone recommend a good iron fire pit / bowl? I've had a look round and it seems they are either mega expensive or flimsy and nasty!

If anyone knows where I can get my hands on a decent quality, reasonably large, no frills pit at a sensible price, I would be sooooooo grateful.

Cheers

didicoy

Mar 7, 2013
fens
I have been using a 3'6" diameter aluminum satellite dish for over three years now. I unscrewed the three rods that come out of the dish to a point & hold the receiver. I then reversed these poles and bolted the receiver end of the poles through a center hole in the satellite dish, but on the outside of the dish. These then form the fire pit legs. I have had lots of very hot fires in the dish. It blows peoples mind when they realize what it is made from. Very light and the legs unscrew for transporting. I did drill a few drain holes in the bottom of the dish to keep it dry in heavy rain. Totally rubbish for getting a good TV reception though. Luckily I can spend hours just looking at flames and a boiling kettle.

treadlightly

Jan 29, 2007
Powys
Those Kadai ones look good but are a bit pricey. Try looking in junk yards or boot sales or antique fairs. I found a big brass bowl at the latter last year and it works well.

Goatboy

Jan 31, 2005
Scotland
Go get a steel wheel from a scrap merchant. Make great fire bowls.

Or better just use the whole Landrover :theyareon:pokenest:

Actually these are pretty good, Cheap £10-£15, come apart for transport, throw out a decent heat, most supermarkets & B&Q stock them and you can cook on them.
potbellybbq.jpg

Elen Sentier

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Or better just use the whole Landrover :theyareon:pokenest: